I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Power Assam Power Distribution Company Limited

Administrative Hierarchy

At the headquarter of the company there are the following wings who in turn functions under the administrative control and supervision of the Chairman and Managing Director

  • Technical wing headed by Director (Technical)
  • Finance & Accounts wing headed by CGM(F&A)
  • Human Resource Development wing headed by CGM(HR)
  • Materials Management wing headed by CGM(PP&D)
  • CGM(Commercial) is the reporting authority of GM(Com-Revenue) and GM(Com-Tariff)
  • Commercial revenue wing headed by GM(Com-Revenue)
  • Commercial Tariff wing headed by GM(Com-Tariff)
  • Project, planning & design wing headed by CGM(PP&D)
  • Vigilance & Security wing headed by Chief Vigilance Officer and Director(Security)

In order to reach out to the consumers in a more inclusive manner, the Company has bifurcated its electricity distribution operation into three regions:

  1. Upper Assam Region headed by Chief General Manager (Distribution), UAR
  2. Central Assam Region headed by Chief General Manager (Distribution), CAR
  3. Lower Assam Region headed by Chief General Manager (Distribution), LAR

These regions have been further divided into 7 (Seven) Zones with each zone being headed by a General Manager.

  1. Dibrugarh Zone under Upper Assam Region
  2. Jorhat Zone under Upper Assam Region
  3. North Assam Zone under Central Assam Region
  4. Nagaon Zone under Central Assam Region
  5. Barak Valley Zone under Central Assam Region
  6. Guwahati Zone under Lower Assam Region
  7. Bongaigaon Zone under Lower Assam Region

These 7 (Seven) zones have been further divided into 19 (Nineteen) numbers of distribution circles with each circle being headed by a Chief Executive Officer (in the rank of DGM).

  • Dibrugarh under DibrugarhZone
  • Tinsukia under DibrugarhZone
  • Jorhat under Jorhat Zone
  • Golaghat under Jorhat Zone
  • SivasagarunderJorhatZone
  • North Lakhimpur under North Assam Zone
  • Tezpur under North Assam Zone
  • Nagaon under Nagaon Zone
  • Morigaon under Nagaon Zone
  • KANCH under Nagaon Zone
  • Cachar under Barak Valley Zone
  • Badarpur under Barak Valley Zone
  • Guwahati-I under Guwahati Zone
  • Guwahati-II under Guwahati Zone
  • Rangia under Guwahati Zone
  • Mangaldoi under Guwahati Zone
  • Kokrajhar under Bongaigaon Zone
  • Bongaigaon under Bongaigaon Zone
  • Barpeta unde rBongaigaon Zone

Each Circle is further divided into Electrical Divisions and the divisions are further divided into Electrical Sub-Divisions. Divisions are being heady by an Assistant General Manager and the sub-divisions by a Deputy Manager / Assistant Manager. Sub-divisional heads are known as Sub Divisional Engineer. Also to cater the needs of the industrial consumers properly, 17 numbers of IRCAs (Industrial Revenue Collection Center) have been established throughout Assam with each IRCA being headed by an Area Manager.

The Sub-Divisions and IRCAs are main revenue unit of APDCL.
There are total of 45 (forty-five) Electrical Divisions and 157 (One hundred fifty-seven) Electrical Sub-Divisions under APDCL as on 01.03.2016.